Growing and consuming your own cannabis plants comes with its own set of rules and regulations. Not all states are given the legal authority to allow its citizens to smoke weed whether for recreational or medical use, let alone cultivate their own plant. A state that allows the medical and recreational use of marijuana in Colorado and looking for the marijuana seed banks in Colorado can be a good place to start your cannabis cultivation.
Cannabis Laws in Colorado came after the passing of Amendment 64. That means adults aged 21 or older in Colorado can legally possess one ounce (28 grams) of marijuana or THC. It also comes with perks such as enjoying many types of concentrates, edibles, topicals during your visit. And as an addition, cannabis seeds are also available for sale in Colorado.
The legality of Marijuana in Colorado – An Overview
Here are some of the vital information that you can use as a reference if you’re living in Colorado and wants to acquire cannabis.
You should be an adult 21 years or older in order to possess 1 ounce of marijuana in Colorado. A government-issued identification to prove that you are 21 years or older like a drivers license or passport will be enough.
Take note that you don’t have to Colorado resident to possess recreational cannabis and there’s no type of registration system. Only the residents who want to apply for a medical marijuana card is required to register with the state.
Purchasing Limits for Marijuana Seed Banks in Colorado
Acquiring cannabis from any marijuana seed banks in Colorado comes with its purchasing limits of 7 grams or less for tourists while for Colorado residents could purchase up to 28 grams. However, this law has been recently changed in June 2016 and now both tourists and residents can purchase 28 grams just in one transaction.
Colorado allows cannabis stores to operate from 8 am until Midnight. Cities are allowed to have their own rules within that timeframe. A good example is that Denver stored must be closed by 10 PM.
If you need to purchase cannabis after 10 PM, you can go to Edgewater or Glendale. You need to check store hours before going to different cities.
The law in Colorado allows its residents 21 years or older to cultivate up to 6 plants. The 3 of these plants can be in the flowering stage stored in an enclosed, locked space.
The law in Colorado does not permit the consumption of marijuana openly and publicly. But there’s a place where tourists and locals can come together and smoke marijuana products safely and legally. They are referred to as private cannabis clubs.
Frequently Asked Question About the Legality of Marijuana in Colorado?
Who can sell cannabis in Colorado?
Storefronts that sell recreational marijuana in Denver should be licensed as a marijuana dispensary. But not all medical marijuana dispensaries sell recreational marijuana.
Before going to the actual store, it will really help if you check on what type of marijuana they sell and their store hours. Keep in mind that it is illegal for any unlicensed person or entity to sell marijuana.
Who can buy cannabis in Colorado?
You must be 21 years and older and you must present a government-issued ID for proof of age. If your age is between 18-21 years old, you’ll need to apply for a medical card if you want to purchase marijuana.
You don’t have to be a resident to buy recreational marijuana, however, only Colorado residents can avail of the medical card. Also, it’s considered illegal to buy from an unlicensed store.
Where can I smoke cannabis in Colorado?
Cannabis can’t be consumed openly or in public in Colorado. Under the law, the list of public places includes transportation facilities, schools, music, sports or amusement venues, parks and playgrounds, and rooftop cafes.
You also can’t smoke indoors of public areas such as restaurants, theaters or office building. But, you can find several locally licensed consumption venues in Colorado Springs and Denver. Colorado residents can smoke in the comfort of their own homes, but this should be in line with the smoking restrictions of their homes or lease.Media
How much Cannabis can I possess?
Both Colorado residents and tourists can purchase up to 1 ounce of marijuana at a time. Medical marijuana patients may purchase and possess 2 ounces of marijuana at a time.
What are the rules for edibles and concentrates?
The possession rules apply to all types of marijuana but dispensaries can only sell 8 grams of concentrates and edibles and it should not contain more than 800 milligrams of THC. Marijuana edibles can’t be consumed in public.
Am I allowed to give or sell marijuana to someone under 21 years old?
No. It’s still considered illegal to give or sell as retail the marijuana to anyone under the age of 21.
What is the penalty if you’re caught possessing or consuming marijuana if you’re not yet 21 years old?
In Denver, for people aged 18 to 21 that have been caught possessing marijuana will face a civil penalty and not a criminal citation. The schools can also impose additional disciplinary policies for students caught with marijuana on school property.
Other legal penalties can range from fines to jail prison sentences. Residents and tourists are highly encouraged to follow the rules as they are simple and breaking them will have a serious record on your personal file.
Is it okay to have marijuana inside my car?
Yes, you are allowed to carry marijuana in your car. But you have to make sure that it’s inside a sealed container and it should never cross state boundaries. Keep in mind that although you’re allowed to keep it in your car, it’s considered illegal to consume marijuana while in your car.
Will I get a DUI for Driving after smoking cannabis?
Yes. The legal limit for driving after smoking cannabis is 5 nanograms or less of delta 9 THC per millimeter of blood. Anyone who has more than that has a risk of getting arrested for DUI.
Will I be able to fly out of Denver with Marijuana?
No. The Denver International Airport prohibits the possession, use, display, and transfer of marijuana on its property. Other airports in Colorado have similar rules but might be less strict.